Sign in to follow this  
Josie

Starting new Betta tank

I am planning to start a betta tank, I just got it set up, and am going to do a fishless cycle.  Here is what I have so far: a 5.5 gal tank with aquaclear 20 and a heater.  I added dechlorinated water and some goldfish food to get the cycle started.

I have been looking at lights and substrate, since I would like for it to be a planted tank.  However, I am very new to this, so I would like to have easy plants that hopefully won't need CO2.  Here is what I am looking at for lights:

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=23550

and for substrate I was thinking the Seachem Fluorite black sand.  Does anyone have any thoughts, or are both of these choices good?  Also what is a good brand of betta food?  Should I also order some excel or flourish?  I am not sure if these two things are necessary.

Also I am wondering about tank mates.  I have been reading other people's posts about their betta tanks, and I see that people are keeping African dwarf frogs, which seems like a really cool idea.  Does anyone know if this will greatly complicate anything?  Do they need special food?  I know my tank is small, and I was hoping to have 1 betta, 2 dwarf frogs and maybe 2 nerite snails...is this too much?  Aqadvisor puts me at 111% stocking level with this, and since a 5.5 gal is rather small, I am wondering if maybe I won't have enough room for everyone to be happy.

Any input would be appreciated, as I really want to make this tank a success!

I think that light would be to much for low light plants and no co2.  Get something really cheep.  Something a GE cool white light would fit over your tank in.    Then get low light plants make sure some are fast growing.  

If you do get that light at least get some excel and maybe some trace elements to supplement.

Here is a list and this is the place I like to order from.  Any substrate well work.  http://www.aquariumplants.com/Low_Light_Plants_s/25.htm