Growing moss on to driftwood in Goldie aquarium

Annie

Hi there!
I have some driftwood pieces that I have never used and I'm thinking I'd like to attempt to grow moss on to them, trying them out in aquarium. 

I have a few questions and would greatly appreciate any advise or tips to learn from you lovely fellow Koko members. 

First question: Best ways to prepare Driftwood and for how long? 

Second question: Best moss to grow that is likely to be most successful in terms of growing & staying uneaten & aesthetically pleasing?

Third question: How much light is required for growing moss?

Fourth question: Best ways/methods to attach the moss & what quantity is required for initial set up? 

If there is any other information you can think of to add please fill me in, I can't wait to hear from you and learn more. 
:thumbup2: 
Thank you kindly!

Hi Annie,

I have moss growing on diftood both in my goldfish and my tropical tank. I'm by no means an expert but here is what I have done / read.

If you already have fish in your aquarium you will mist likely want to boil or at least soak your driftwoodcseperately before you add it to the tank. It will leach tannins and most likely won't sink immediately. I was a bad girl andvdidnt boil mine. Ibdidnt have fish in the tank so I just tied a big rock to my driftwood and let it settle in.

There are lots of types of moss and it is mainly up to your personal preference which one you choose. Some need more light or Co2 but most are pretty easy to grow. They grow in different directions and have different shapes. The easiest and most famous is java moss. Weeping moss as the name suggests droops down. Flame moss grows up. It's difficult to tell whether your fish will eat it until you try it. Two of my goodies aren't interested. The other one will however pick at in once in a while. It's always good to have a sacrificial plant that your goldfish love to eat and that keeps them distracted. Mine are floating water lettuce.