Sign in to follow this  
Guest Fishy

Oops - Looks Like I Might Have Babies!

Guest Fishy

I have just joined this forum as an emergency measure - I came down this morning to find that my fish have some eggs. :o I looked frantically through my small collection of books, none of which had any info on what to do in an unplanned situation. I have read though a lot of things posted here and that has helped enormously. Thanks for that.

Following advice here, I have set up a second tank using mostly water from the main tank and moved plants with eggs over to this. There only seem to be a dozen at most, and I am not sure how these will do.

I am still a novice at fish keeping having only kept fish for the last year and a half, so please forgive my ignorant questions.

In my ten gallon tank I have three smallish fancy goldfish - I don't know if they are pure breeds or not and one fancy calico who is at least half as big again as the others and has a different body shape. I've discovered that he is the male and the one I bought with him is the female (red and white). My male is still harassing the female quite relentlessly and she has only produced a dozen eggs (unless more were eaten in the early hours). He seems to be more or less ignoring the others (who are younger). Do I need a tank divider? - what does this look like? I do not have any other tanks.

I only have one other air pump and I think that it is too strong for the small tank with the eggs (10 litre). What do I do next :huh:

Sorry about the long post.

Guest goldfishpal

If you only have dozen eggs, a breeder net would be enough for you to raise the small ones. You can also use the breeder net to put the female there and let her take a rest.

If you want more eggs, get a breeding mop, or make one yourself. If you do not want more eggs, feed them less.

Good luck!

---Goldfishpal

Guest Fire & Ice