Hello from a new hobbyist in Canada!

ActiasAmy

Hello;

My name is Amy. I'm new to the hobby in January, my partner got me a 40gal used setup from kijiji and goldfish equipment from the local Petsmart as a birthday present since i'd mentioned how much I missed growing aquatic plants and that I was hoping to get a goldfish in the near future. We cycled the tank but I couldn't decide what to do with it and I was indecisive as to which goldfish to keep.

2 months ago a friend gave me two sick fancies that she could no longer care for. After buying a QT tank, and healing them up I purchased 5 more very ill fancies from a mall pet shop that was being shut down. Fast forward 2 months, lots of research and 200 WCs later and here we are. As of this weekend 5 happy and healthy fancy goldfish have been re-homed. I myself have purchased new filters, switched over my substrate and established a light-medium planted tank for the two baby fish (a Ranchu and a Lionchu) that I've fallen in love with. A specialty aquatics store i've been dealing with called me in today for a surprise...A BEAUTIFUL BLACK BABY RANCHU. They had recieved him in a mixed order, as they knew I intended to special order one in the fall season and as "their most enthusiastic goldfish customer" they gave him to me as a gift with a bag of special ordered Hikari Lionhead pellets as well! He is currently in quarantine and I just cannot stop staring!

I am overwhelmed by the knowledge, community, and goodwill I have seen here on the KoKo's forum while I was doing my research to start my tank, and that I have seen in the fishkeeping community as a whole! This hobby blends my love of plants, chemistry, biology and most importantly FISH! I am so grateful that this site exists so that I can continue to learn and grow in the hobby! Thank you and great to meet you!

-Amy

Welcome Amy! You'll love it here!!

You MUST post pics of your goldies as soon as possible!!! We THRIVE on pictures here!!