Sign in to follow this  
MK_12

Need help identifying plant

Hello everyone, I am in need of your expertise on correctly identifying this plant. Also, if anyone can:

1- tell me if this plant is healthy or not

2- guide me into the proper conditions/care it would need.

I purchased them at Petco yesterday (a bunch of them came in the same tube) and it was labeled as Hygrophila Corymbosa Stricta Compacta :blink: Now, the only reason why I would like confirmation as far as the type of this plant goes is because when I purchased my anubias some were incorrectly labeled. I've looked up this Hygrophila type on line but they don't seem to match what I have so kind of confused. Please bear with me since I am still very new to aquatic plants and am trying my best to learn more about them. Just to let you guys also know, I have a low tech 50 gal tank with five anubias planted within. I plan to start with just low maintenance plants for now. Thank you in advance for all of your help :D oh and I apologize if the pics are too big... still trying to figure out all the technical stuff on koko's.

One more thing: I did disinfect the plants prior to adding them to the betta tank also low tech (19 parts water to 1 part bleach for 2 to 3 minutes. Hope this was correct) I decided to have them in the betta tank first before adding them to the goldies tank only because these plants are still pretty small and my goldfish would just destroy them.

IMG_0065_zps044e7409.jpg

IMG_0064_zpse1b33a57.jpg

IMG_0063_zpsf6dda6ef.jpg

Edited by MK_12

for the one that's in the first picture, at the bottom of the stem it doesn't feel so firm but it isn't squishy either. When I rubbed my fingers at the bottom of the stem it felt like it was peeling, kind of... I don't know if that makes sense

for all the other ones, yes, the stems are firm