Sign in to follow this  
choji002

Water's height

Hi guys, I'm new to goldfish keeping, I've just started 20 gallon tank forsome goldfish and I really want to know more about the water level in the tank. I've read some articles about it and some recommends that it should be between 15 to 20cm to give the fish less water pressure and nice tail, but I saw lots of video on youtube of some tanka fully filled .So which one is better ?

I'm also interested to know this - I always thought the water was supposed to be up high, under the trim so you can't see it, but I see pics of tanks where the water level is a couple inches below...

Goldfish prefer a more horizontal swimming area which is why a lot of folks around here like the 20g long and 40g breeder tanks. Also, some of the really big aquariums have favorable dimensions. Some goldfish are more prone to swim bladder problems that make deeper water difficult for them. I think aesthetically speaking it looks better to fill the water to the top, but by utilizing a tank with longer dimensions you can accomplish both. :)

Yah, I've been asking my self this question since I started my first tank, but these are only recommendations from some guys on the internet and the information is not yet confirmed.

Goldfish prefer a more horizontal swimming area which is why a lot of folks around here like the 20g long and 40g breeder tanks. Also, some of the really big aquariums have favorable dimensions. Some goldfish are more prone to swim bladder problems that make deeper water difficult for them. I think aesthetically speaking it looks better to fill the water to the top, but by utilizing a tank with longer dimensions you can accomplish both. :)

Yes, I thought about the bladder issues too, that's why I only have my tank 3/4 filled but since I saw lots of fully-filled tank so I think I should bring this up so I could get advice from you guys. ^^