Rescued goldies--not sure I'm doing the right things for them

Sara Shissler

• Supporter
  • I have three goldfish that I rescued from someone who couldn't take care of them. They were an unfortunate gift to a disabled person who really didn't need any more pets to take care of. When I took them in August, the water conditions they were in were horrible. Two of them just floated at the top of the tank listlessly. I don't even know when the last time their water was changed was--they were just topping off the tank--not changing the water. And all three were in a 16 gallon tank!

Basically, they all have tails that are ragged, and they were all constipated and floating. Most of that seems to have cleared up, but there still is some white stringy stuff occasionally even after the medi-gold. I just don't know why their fins are getting worse.

I'm wondering--GH and KH at the right levels? Could that be a factor?

Thanks for your help--I'm new to having fish. But these ones are obviously survivors!

Sara

• * Ammonia Level(Tank) 0
    • * Nitrite Level(Tank) 0
    • * Nitrate level(Tank) between 5 to 10 ppm
    • * Ammonia Level(Tap) 0
    • * Nitrite Level(Tap) <.01 ppm
    • * Nitrate level(Tap) .8 ppm
    • * Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines) Ph 7.4, KH 2, GH 89.5
    • * Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines) Ph 8.5, KH 3, GH 107.4
    • Other Required Info:
      • * Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops? API drops
      • * Water temperature? 68F
      • * Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running? 55gal, running since August 2013
      • * What is the name and "size of the filter"(s)? SunSun Canister filter 265 gph
      • * How often do you change the water and how much? 1-2 times per week, 25%
  • * How many days ago was the last water change and how much did you change? 2 days ago--25%
  • * How many fish in the tank and their size? 3 fancy goldfish--2 inches long