No more Dropsy ...

MissFree

Hello everyone. I'm another newbie and I'm really glad that I found this site and forum. I'm hopeful that with the information I learn I can effectively keep goldfish even if everyone else thinks that I'm wasting my time. Something about goldfish calm me and I'm not sure why, but I love it!

I'm not an expert by any means but I have done enough research to now that this fish possibly has a bad case of dropsy. I'm really not hoping for the best but I really don't want to lose it. I say IT because unfortunately I still can't tell the difference. I've tried so many times. I did say I'm not an expert.

I already know that I need to invest in better food as flakes aren't really the best thing.

I read about six posts that talked about medication and metro-meds... PLEASE tell me where to get them.

I'm also looking into the frozen krill and other options.

I'll try to post a video from YouTube. It's not the best but I'm sure you'll be able to see the pineconing :(

I'm in the process of trying to find a hospital tank because the plastic tubs I have are either too large or not large enough and I know that treatment takes a few weeks.

Thanks in advance for all you help and advice...

I'll stop yapping now.

http://youtu.be/JQX7Z287XH0

• Test Results for the Following

I didn't want to past the actual chart since I couldn't answer it.

I know that the PH level is around 7.4

The ammonia was at 0

Nitrites were at 0

Nitrates were possibly at 0 I honestly believe.

I'll do the whole chart when I get home.

• * Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops? API Master Test Kit
    • * Water temperature? 70
    • * Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running? 55 gallon, running 11 months.
    • * What is the name and "size of the filter"(s)? Fluval Canister Filter 205 and a HOP Marineland Bio Wheel that came with the aquarium kit.
    • * How often do you change the water and how much? 30 to 50% biweekly.