Wasting Platy.

Hi guys.

This post is actually for my aunt, not myself. She has asked me for advice concerning an older platy since she believes I'm a fish expert (yeah, right), and honestly I've never really kept tropical fish so here I am.

Her 4-year-old red platy, Mama, isn't doing so well. Over the past few months her color has faded from a dark red to pale pink, which my aunt thought was normal considering the fish's age. Until a about a week ago the fish was behaving normally - active, eating well. Now she is bottom sitting and has lost a lot of weight in a short amount of time, to the point her belly has sunken in. Mama is also breathing rapidly, and refusing all flake/pellet foods. She has been eating bloodworms though, but not a lot. The tank is 29 gallons. There are at least a dozen platys and mollys (I think? They're yellow) in it, and a big common pleco.

My first thought was internal parasites since she'd lost so much weight. I asked my aunt to isolate the her so I could see her stool. It was relatively normal (food colored and short) so I guess that theory's out the door.

Obviously I brought over my test kit to she if her water parameters were contributing to the problem. They came up as:

- Ph 8.0

- Ammonina 0ppm

- Nitrite 0ppm

- Nitrate Definitely over 40ppm, probably higher. I can't read it well when it gets into the red zone.

I asked her to do four 25% water changes in 12hr intervals (her water comes out of the tap so high the High Range API test can't read it) to get the nitrates down.

Aside from that, I don't know what to tell her to do. I'll fill out the whole D&D form in a second, I'll have to hunt it down on the mobile site (I'm on tapatalk). I'll see if I can get a picture of the fish, but I won't be going to her house again until tomorrow, so until then I can only describe the problem.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Test Results for the Following:

Tank

* Ph 8.0

* Ammonia 0ppm

* Nitrite 0ppm

* Nitrate Above 40ppm

Tap