Sign in to follow this  
Halethrain

The 40B: A Journey (Super Pic Heavy)

When I first got a tank, I learned soon after that 20g was only enough for one goldie. I had wanted two, and so (only a few months after my initial purchase :glare:) I knew I had to upgrade.

I looked high and low for a stand in the odd dimensions of the 40. Coming up empty handed and after many, MANY hours of looking through DIY, I got off my patoot, took a trip to Lowe's and the story begins!

I have never built anything before and I was seriously lacking in tools for the task I was about to undertake. I knew this would set me back in my cost-effective ideas of building my own stand, however, it was necessary and I will find many more projects to make good use of it. Off-topic; I think this Hitachi saw was great. Highly rated and decently priced entry-level miter saw. It cut through everything with ease. I recommend it!

This is not a paid advertisement. This is a public service announcement.

This is a recording.

0BZgS2F.jpg?1

GYkxItD.jpg?1

KaBEJVu.jpg?1

I chose some knobs in a polished pewter finish and a slim, profile handle for the DIY glass canopy I will also be making later.

cyTvNpB.jpg?1

utIgwh0.jpg?1

Still deciding on a shade of black, but I'm pretty sure I'm going with the one photo'd. It has a very pretty and subtle dark blue tone to it.

The next day, I jumped from my bed like a kid on Christmas, hastily threw on some clothes and lugged me and my supplies over to my grandpa's. I knew he'd have all the other tools and supplies I would need. (Thanks Grandpa!) He mostly let me to my own devices at my Grandma's insistence that it was my project and he should let me do it myself. That didn't keep him away (I'm sure he thought I would chop off my hand :lol3 ) but I was happy to have his help measuring and holding things while I sawed and put it together.

Unfortunately in my rush to go over I forgot to take my iPod that day and so the images pick up here:

nGSuVrc.jpg?1