Sign in to follow this  
MexiMike83

Anyone use API CO2 booster?

Not sure if this is the right spot for this question, so moderators please feel free to move it where it belongs. Thanks :)

Went to Petsmart today and came out with some API CO2 booster. I am thinking I will try it at 1/2 dose in the morning to increase plant growth. Has anyone used this before? Will it harm my plants?

My plants are:

1) 3 - anubias plants of different varieties

2) 1-anacharis narrow leaf

3) 1-Ludwigia palustrius (narrow leaf)

4) 1- narrow leaf ludwigia.

I've never used this stuff before, right now I'm using Seachem Flourish twice a week as the label instructs. Thoughts, opinions, suggestions?

Thanks!

It's a flourish excel equivalent, and while I haven't used it personally, a friend of mine has. Her tank is extensively planted, and she said that it worked great. :)

As Daniel pointed out to me just a couple of days ago, these carbon sources (Flourish Excel, CO2 Booster) are aqueous solution of glutaraldehyde, a very toxic organic disinfectant.

Use with caution.

I have used it, but don't plan on continuing.

Ya i noticed that. Ive used it to clean bronchoscopes in the hospital. Lucky for me, my gf is a CNA and we have tons of surgical gloves around the house. I hope to save up some money to get a pressurized CO2 system one day along with a sumo for this tank or go bigger. I have always wanted to aquascape, to do it with my goldies would be awesome. To do that though i mught have to change substrate with clay on the bottom? I dont know, im not there yet.

Ugh typing on this nook is such a pain. Sec going to grab the iphone...