Sign in to follow this  
andry6

Cycling a new tank. Please help!

Hello! I am very new to this whole fishy thing. Let me give you a little "background".

It all started when our daughter won some feeder fish at after prom and brought them home for our 8 year old son. We bought a 29 gallon tank and all 4 feeders were dead in a week. (I'm assuming they were sick when she brought them home. They ended up with ich and we treated the tank and did whatever possible to keep them alive but with no luck)

Anyway, after burying the little guys in the back yard, we emptied the tank, rinsed everything in very hot water (no soap) and left it all out in the sun to dry. We then set the tank up again, let it run for a week, adding a "beneficial bacteria" product given to us by the pet store and followed the directions to a T.

Next, we went to an aquarium store that specializes in fish, since we were afraid to buy the new little guys from Petsmart or another "chain" store. We purchased two fantails (1 calico and 1 red capped)

so. . .this is where we are:

29 gallon tetra brand aquarium

whisper power filter 30 (with carbon cartriges - hangs on back of tank)

1 bubble strip and 2 decorative bubblers

all artificial plants - no live plants

2 fantail goldfish - approx. 3-3 1/2 inches in length

feed pellet and flakes, sometimes peas - feed 2 times a day (they eat it immediately - nothing sinks to the bottom)

no heater on the tank - room temp usually aroung 76 degrees

use API freshwater master test kit daily to monitor levels

Since I'm new to this whole thing, I am paranoid about stressing these cuties out and possibly killing them, so I have been doing daily 8 gallon water changes to keep the ammonia below 1.0ppm. I'm usually aroung .5, never lower).

It has been 6 weeks since we put the fish in the tank and I still have a nitrite reading of 0 and a nitrate of 5.