Sign in to follow this  
musicalmouse

Getting a New Tank - Lots of Qns

First off, I'm a complete noob at caring for goldfish. I got my API Freshwater Master Test Kit in the mail this morning. I tested the water and the ammonia and nitrites are too high and there seem to be tiny amount of nitrates. I quickly did a 50% water change, the ammonia reading went down to about 1ppm. I'll be doing 20-30% water changes each day from now, something that I should have been doing from the beginning, I just knew nothing about the whole ammonia-nitrite-nitrate cycle :(. By the end of this week I will have a 190L tank (currently they are in a 20L tank that they came with) and a 1800LPH canister filter. They are three tiny goldfish (backstory and pics here). I have a 'filter' which is attached to an air pump and not very effective AT ALL - some poop is left on the bottom but I try to scoop it out at least once a day.

Okay, the questions:

1. When I set up the new tank, I should have the filter running for at least 24 hours before putting in the fish, correct?
  2. When I set up the new tank, should I do a water change in the old one and move the water that I took out to the new tank, to kick start the cycle with the ammonia and nitrites in the water? (and move over the living plants I have?)
  3. After waiting the requisite amount of time, do I move the fish over with all of their old water and the old filter?
  4. Do bio boosters work? It seems most people think that the bacteria is anerobic and therefore can't actually survive in bottles?
  5. Should I, in the future, buy a second filter? What size? I've been reading that it's good to have a second one for back up.