BABIES! (media heavy, beware!)

My ghost shrimp had ghost babies!!!! I've seen females berried in the evening and empty in the morning, but have never seen babies, ever. Apparently they can hide in the cabombas, because tonight I counted SEVEN babies!!! Proud momma, right here, this girl. EEEE! Well, I know you all by now, so here are pics:

9039053620_7de77450ec_b_zpsa68bf888.jpg

^ Mega zoom! Hi babies! There are three in this photo :D

9036831815_aa6488bd8c_b_zps622afd2c.jpg

^ No zoom. See them? This is a 10 gallon tank :)

9036844963_040236be6f_b_zpsd77bf570.jpg

^ For size reference, here are some adults at the base of that twisty driftwood you see in photo #2.

I have zero experience with inverts and these guys have been shocking me!!! Out of 23, I still have 19 of them a month later. Several have molted. And now babies?? My heart melts.

i started the same way had no real idea only plants needed and such tried ghosts end up losing them quite quickly sadly

but i ended up getting a fluval ebi and, started breeding red cherrys and they can just be left to it.

one of the most hardy shrimp in my eyes.

i have so many i use them as live feed for my tropical tank, and quite a few now live in my canister filter also lol

I'm enamored with red cherries :) I'd love to see photos of yours! I'd originally planned on kind of "practicing" with the ghosts to eventually buy some cherries, but these guys just have been thriving! I'd love to get some cherries but worried how they would do mixed with ghosts...and at $4 apiece plus shipping, I'm not too sure it's worth the risk.

sorry i can't get any good photos of the cherry's cameras a bit old now and does not focus well enough to show them off.

i'll give it go at some point, but not today sorry maybe if i have time tomorrow.

but i know people that keep cherrys and ghosts together they are a none aggressive type so they don't bother each-other.

and i believe they don't cross breed either but i'm not sure.

edit $4 :o