Sign in to follow this  
jdjn13

How fast do goldfish grow?

Hey all,

Hope you are doing good! I was just wondering how fast goldfish actually grow. I have had my little lionhead for a week now and I have been feeding him and his tankmate (calico oranda) on Hikari Oranda as well as peas every 4 days or so. He has put on weight well, and I swear he has grown about a cm. Is this normal?

Thanks!

You can't really answer this question ! That's great that your little fella has grown !

Growth in a goldfish depends on many things ;

Space , the more space a goldfish has will help them grow bigger and faster.

Food , different foods can accelerate or decline growth speeds.

Health , obviously a healthy goldfish will grow faster than an unhealthy goldfish.

Sorry I can't be more specific as I'm not an expert !

P.s. I'm not sure but I think that happy goldfish grow faster that sad , unhappy goldfish , someone should know more about the goldfish emotions !

Growth while juvenile (the first 2 years) can be erratic and uneven. Like most animals there is a range of growth, some grow fast, slow or even in spurts. After 2 yrs growth seems to even out and we adjust feeding accordingly.

As stated above, there are many factors to keep a goldfish healthy. A healthy goldfish will grow naturally. :)

Great! Yeh, I'm not wanting to force their growth. JUst keeping them healthy, well fed and active! Definitely agree that the healthier and happier they are the more they grow. I had two comets that I kept in a 12L tank (I was 10 and didn't have a clue!!) and they didn't grow much at all in there, then when I moved them to a 10 gallon and actually looked after them better, they grew to 6 inches and lived 6 years.