Sign in to follow this  
jdjn13

Noob Fail

Hey Guys, I am excited because this is my first ever post here! WAHOOO!! Anyway, I'm fairly new to fish keeping (serious fish keeping anyway). The other day I bought a lovely Lionhead Goldfish (1 1/2 inches at the moment) and put his in my 20g tank. However, I thought I could get away without having a filter in the tank! How wrong was I?! He makes so much mess for a small fish!!! So after just 24 hours I have bought a big filter that will filter nearly 3 times the size of the tank every hour. The thing that I'm worried about is that this filter won't have the beneficial bacteria needed to take out the ammonia and nitrites. Will he be okay? I'm doing daily 50% water changes to try and keep the water quality good until the filter arrives! HELP! Thanks.

You're doing good, almost there, just a few more things to get.

A filter needs to turn the water 10X so you may need to add a second filter to get that number. (as you already said these are messy fish!)

The api freshwater masterkit. This will have test supplies for pH, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. These are essential to make sure the levels stay healthy for a fish in cycle.

A good water conditioner that detoxifies ammonia. The ones recommended here are amquel plus or prime. This is just further protection against ammonia burns while cycling your fish.

Finally.. read this! http://www.kokosgoldfish.com/cycle.html

And :welcome

Hi jdjn 13….. :welcome

Sorry to hear about your current problem.

Being a relative newbie on Koko’s, I would not wish to give you any incorrect advice on the subject, and escalate what is already a worrying time for you.

However, may I offer a shoulder of support from a fellow Member, and assure you that help will arrive from one of our experienced members or Moderators very soon.