Making plants work - structure

Hiya! I'm starting up a 55 gallon tropical tank for tetras, so that I can experiment with plants and they won't become salads :)

I'm not near ready to start it up yet, but traveling out of town in the next few days to go to a pet shop so I wanted to ask this now.

My working plan is to get different pieces of driftwood and hook them together (think Superglue would work?) in sort of a lattice-like structure. Scientific, realistic, perfectly to scale example photo:

driftwood_zpsf07525e1.png

So I'm thinking it'll just be a bottom-to-top structure that would be against the back of the tank and become the support for mosses and plants and such. Then the front/middleish area would be open for swimming.

I'm a total newbie so I'm wondering if this sounds like an okay plan to you all! I really like driftwood and have a couple large pieces that I'm not currently using, so that's where the idea was hatched.

Edit: Just realized this area is for goldfish planted tanks...mods, please move if you think it would fit elsewhere! :D

Edited by kaylaj2355

Super Glue works great and a lot of members use rubber bands also if you don't have the patience to wait for the glue to dry. Not sure about your plan for your tropical tank because I don't have one and haven't had much luck with live plants. Much success to you and your tank. :)

Thanks so much! I wonder how Superglue works on the driftwood...after I posted, I actually started wondering if zip-ties might be easier :)

Aquarium silicone works and is safe!!! good luck and have fun:-)

I think plants are pretty easy. Good substrate, light and a little fert and off they go!!! I found the longer you leave the lights on the faster they grow !!!

Thanks guys! I think I will go with the silicon, I'm going to be attaching so much after all :P I'll have to search the forum for fertilizer posts!

for