dirted mason jars

Evening

I bought a couple of large amazon swords today to see if the pigs would eat it, along with some extra gravel and a sack of organic choice potting soil. I filled the mason jars up and then tamped the dirt down, added some gravel, then the swords, and filled in gravel around them until they stood up straight, then plopped each jar in the tanks, one for the tropical and one for the goldfish.

Hopefully this will work out for me, but I've never done dirted anything before. Any major pitfalls I should watch out for?

Probably not--I'm sure you'll be fine. You may have to repot them as they grow, but that'd be the only thing I could think of.

I usually like to let the soil sit wet (like mud pie wet) for a few days before potting, but it shouldn't be too big of a deal tossing it in dry. I've done that, too, if I'm impatient. If it's already wet, the air bubbles escape, and you won't have so much settling, with the soil belching up and out from the rocks. Dry, you want to put in about 1.5-2 inches of soil, to get one inch of settled, saturated soil. Not a big deal--the filters will catch any soil that is released during settling.

If you have a lot of soil in the tank, maybe watch for a little ammonia spike, as the soil itself goes through it's cycle from dry to saturated. I only really saw a difference when I put the soil in dry, and dirted a whole tank that way. The tank was already cycled, and mature, so my numbers never got over .25. Like I said, no big deal. :)

Soil is great. I promise you, once you get used to it, you can't grow plants any other way. :)

Here's a pic of my sword bowl, just to show you. I went a little shallow on the soil, but I'd never used a real bowl before, so I didn't want to have too much dirt in there, in case it didn't work out. Goldfish are tough little buggers, aren't they?

100_5277_zps2918c53d.jpg

Don't forget to post pictures!!

Edited by yafashelli