Advice about buying huge used tank and moving it 900 miles ?

I am a newbie .... I have a 120 gal tank with 16 goldies. I really love them all and don't want to re-home.

BUT I live in Idaho ... not much comes up on the CL up here.

My parents are about to move from LA, CA up here. My parents and my husband think that buying another large tank down there and moving it up here is a bad idea. Especially since it would be used. if it cracks in the move ... we are just out the cash (which is thin .....)

anyone moved large tanks? will it be worth the effort?

I am trying to look at all my options. I need to save up and do good for my goldies.

How much would a brand new 120 gal tank be ... where would you buy such a thing .....?

If the people doing it don't have experience moving it, it's a very bad idea.

During my 1000 mile move, our van was packed full. My 55 was put in the back, covered with blankets, and it had some boxes in it. Upon removing it, I found a HUGE crack going across one panel. My 11 fish were stuck in a 30 gallon bucket for a month. Not good at all /:

Basically, I'd recommend not doing it, unless the people know how to look for faults in the tank, and know how to get it packed and moved safely, it's just not worth the risk.

Have you considered using sterilite tubs to house the fish until you can get them another suitable tank? You might see some sales or more listings on CL In your area.

Oh, and where to find them, do you have any pet stores near you?

Edited by LovelyChaos

You might consider an acrylic tank which would be more durable and lighter. I've seen some used 112-125 gallon TruVu tanks for around $300 with hood and stand, but they had some scratches.