Sign in to follow this  
VicMao

How to Feed Fruit?

Hi guys! :)

I'm going to the grocery store tonight, and I wanted to get some frozen peas, some spinach, and some grapes to vary up Baxter's diet. Yay! :D

But I was wondering...how do you feed a fish some fruit? I've read a lot about peas and spinach, but what about fruit? How would I give Baxter his grapes? Cut them up into teeny pieces? Mash them? Also...canned spinach or fresh baby spinach? Any help would be *much* appreciated. :)

Hi vic mao im no expert at all but i think that you get a masher or a grinder, and grind it all up into litle blocks and then feed it, im not expert so this is just a sujjestion

I have never tried grapes, but I bet you can just take the skin off and cut the grape into goldfish bit-size pieces. :) Also, orange slices are very healthy.

I like to feed fresh spinach (but of course soften it by microwaving it in some water first). I'm sure you could feed canned if you want, just make sure there is no added salt or anything.

I have never tried feeding grapes, but I would just make sure they have no seeds and then either cut it into small pieces or clip a small piece to a veggie clip. But please remember that fruit is a special occasion 'treat' kind of snack, not something that you want to feed too regularly because it is high in sugar. I feed fruit only every couple weeks, and just a small amount at a time. Leafy greens like spinach are more beneficial in the long run :)

Mine just blow orange back out :wacko:

Sparsely.

Fruits are high in sugar and should be fed only rarely. Mine only get some citrus fruit every few weeks. They don't even care much for it but prefer small bits of fresh tomato - which still contains a lot of sugar and should b feed only occasionally as well :)

Like Fang, I don't see why one would feed fish high-sugar foods.

Fang, tomato doesn't have much sugar at all, in spite of the sweetness.

Like Fang, I don't see why one would feed fish high-sugar foods.