Sign in to follow this  
doddmatic

Got a larger tank to upgrade to. What now?

Hey guys

So I'm relatively new to the goldfish keeping game and I wound up putting three fish in a 75 Litre (20 Gallon) aquarium, when I discovered the error of my ways

I took a vow to find a larger tank as soon as possible but my budget is quite limited. While I would like to upgrade to a 200 Litre (53 Gallon) tank next year I've

managed to find myself a nice 155 (41 Gallon) Litre to use in the meantime, hoorah!

I'm going to pick the new tank up this weekend and take my time establishing it, but what would be the best way to do it?

At present I have a 75 Litre with a Fluval U2 Filter and all of my water parms are good, I have gravel as a substrate but I would like to move away from that,

I was thinking of a bare bottom, some bogwood, river rocks, potted plants, with maybe a little patch of gravel kept for the fish to forage around.

The new tank will come with An Aqua One Maxi Internal filter, I'm not sure of the size capacity yet but it might be the 103f, 104f. Hopefully I can combine this new filter

and my Fluval to provide optimal filtration, thought I might go for an external later on.

My real question is, what is the best way to proceed with the new setup? Can I make use of my existing filter media or water to get the cycle started?

Is it possible to clean out the new tank and move everything across including the water, filter, fish? Just keep the tank half full and 'top up' the tank with

a few extra litres of prime treated water periodically until the tank is almost full? Would that be a stupid idea?

Let me know what you think, or if there is a good post on this somewhere on the forums could you point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance

Derek

Hi Derek, congratulations on the new tank. Clean it out well - plenty of threads on the forum about how to do that - and then move everything (but not water - use all new treated water).