Sign in to follow this  
Rojo

Are my readings good?

So as some of you know I am very new to the hobby, I've seen some cycling videos on YouTube but of-course it was after I housed my little guys in their 55. So I am doing my water change today I do them every two days. I did the water test with the API test kit (not strips)

Ph: 7.4

Ammonia: 0.25 (barely made this color on the tube so might be I bit lower)

Nitrite: 1.0

Nitrate: 40ppm

I am feeding new life spectrum 1mm sinking pellets, vegetables, and brine shrimp as treats

Aqua clear 110 and ac70

Whisper 100 air pump with elite 3' bubble disk and elite square air fizz

From the videos I've seen my reading don't seam right please help. Thank you in advance!

How long have you been cycling for? Nitrates is a sign of a completed cycle, which is good!

Ideally, for goldfish you want to be registering no more than 40ppm, however preferably 20ppm if possible

EDIT: Sorry, completely skipped past your nitrite reading! Jamie has covered it, though :) A back-to-back 80% water change should get your nitrites and nitrates back down to 0ppm. Make sure you are matching the temperature and pH of the water.

do you know your GH and KH reading?

Edited by Narny105

Nitrite at 1ppm is strong enough to actually cause severe damage to your fish with exposure. You need to get that down asap. You're going to need do larger, daily water changes and dose with prime every 24 hours until this comes down. Also, add 1Tbsp/gal of aquarium salt to your tank to block additional nitrite damage, while your tank finishes cycling. You will need to re-add the salt as you do your water changes to keep it at the same level.

40ppm Nitrate is also a little on the high side, you will want to bring that down to 20 or lower with daily changes, as well.

Hang in there... you'll get it! :)