Sign in to follow this  
alvintran1998

Aquarium light keeps flickering and doesn't stay on.

This started yesterday morning when I tried to turn the light of my aquarium on, and it keeps flickering and doesn't stay on completely, Today, I went out and bought a new light bulb and light starter to replace, hoping it would fix the problem, but no luck. I don't know what to do now since I am not good at fixing things at all, and don't want to pay for a new light hood. Any idea or suggestions?

I'm sorry but you are probably going to have to get a new hood. I'm not sure how you would fix the one you have but maybe someone else can give you better advice.

I'm sorry but you are probably going to have to get a new hood. I'm not sure how you would fix the one you have but maybe someone else can give you better advice.

Yep, your assumption is pretty much correct. It's time for a new hood.

Check the cord for damage, and check that the prongs of the bulb are connecting to the outlet when the bulb is in.

It would glow a little on both ends, then the whole bulb lights up for a split second, then goes black. And it keeps flashing and flickering like that for as long as I leave it on. Any ideas?

Is it a light built into a hood, or a separate light strip? Do you know what the brand is?

I don't think I can help you fix it, sadly, but I am curious what you have. I have a light with this problem and I haven't been able to fix it except to bang on it sometimes when it goes all flickery.

The light bulb is seperate from the hood. The original bulb that came with the hood and tank (from Craigslist) is Marineland, than I bought a new 24" Aqueon light bulb today. There's no name printed on the hood itself, but it came from the Top Fin 37 Gallon starter kit if that helps. I've just measured it and it's 30" long.

If it's fluorescent , then your ballast is bad. On some hoods, these can be replaced. Let me know the model and I'll find out.