Sign in to follow this  
mattyhills1987

why they keep chasing?

Hello there!!..been doing some research on this but i just want your thoughts.... My fish have been chasing the same fish (not all the time) but sometimes, and its always the same one... reading up that it could be the female fish and the others are trying to get the eggs ??....Some other people say that fish do this because its dying and they can sence the sick fish ?... others say they are fighing for territory..

Anyway iv make a short clip of it... to see what you lot think..cheers

best to start at 15secs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpwHkZnIWdg&feature=youtu.be

Edited by mattyhills1987

it certainly could be breeding behavior, OR it could be food aggression too, Does this behavior seem to happen shortly after feeding??

how many fish and how many gallons is the tank??

I am no EXPERT on fish behavior, so we will see what other members say about this .............. :D

Edited by Sharkbait3

Looks like breeding behavior to me. The male fish bumps the females full belly to encourage the eggs to come out.

it certainly could be breeding behavior, OR it could be food aggression too, Does this behavior seem to happen shortly after feeding??

I am no EXPERT on fish behavior, so we will see what other members say about this .............. :D

99gals with 6fish just happens random, with or without been given food...... then they will just all stop after lol

Looks like breeding behavior to me. The male fish bumps the females full belly to encourage the eggs to come out.

thats what am edging too, since last year i found a baby fish inside the back of the pump in my old river reef 94L.. and they were doing this in there aswell with the same fish....