Sign in to follow this  
friendlyfishies

Red Cap wen trimming info?

I bought 2 goldfish about 12 days ago at the local petco. I bought a normal gold fancy and red cap. The red cap was just too cute! Im not entirely new to fish as I have bettas and guppies but I am new to goldfish and should have done a bit more research...my gold goldfish died :/ it injured its fin and developed a bacterial infection. I tried to medicate et but it didnt work out. I still have my red cap oranda though and so far she seems just fine but will be making a big move to my 20 gallon long tank today (they were currently in a 15 gal hex).

Yesterday upon my research I stumbled across an article and some video's of wen trimming! It really jumped me to be honest...I had no idea this was necessary. The article I was reading mostly focused on big orandas.

Last night I lost a lot of sleep over it...debating whether or not to return the fish (im still within the 14 day return policy/its day 12 today)...but then this morning I found out shes a red cap! and now im like phew...maybe I dodged that bullet. From pics im seeing of red caps their wen appears to be much smaller than the oranda's and Im having trouble finding many articles about wen trimming on red caps which tends to make me think its not very common to have to trim the wen on a red cap oranda?

So basically I would just like to know, Is it common to have to trim back the red cap orandas wen? (not talking regular oranda, only red caps) or do their wen stay out of the way for the most part?

welcome to kokos :)

it really depends what kind of oranda you have. some do and some don't in their entire lives need wen trimming. would you like to post a pic or two of your fish so that we can determine if they're heading down that path?