Sign in to follow this  

Okay...

So I'm new to this site and I'm new to fish-keeping, I'm 12, and I wandered why my fish was pooping long thin white strands, and struggling to push it out, I google'd it, and found out it has a bacterial infection, but I don't have enough money to buy any treatment for it yet, the next day, i fed it as normal, and went downstairs, came up to my bedroom to find my fish pooping, only it was normal, i thought his body had fought off the infection, and thought nothing else of it, but then at night he struggled as usual pooping white strands again, this has only happened 2 nights in a row, but I don't want my fourth fish to die

can anyone help me?

T

hello T,

welcome to koko's :heart

i am sorry to hear that you've already lost 3 fish and your 4th is ill. can you try to answer all the questions in the white box above? just copy and paste them into your text and answer them there.

if you don't know some answers, just answer that you don't know and we will try to help you with whatever information you provide. can you post a pic of your fish? you can use the free webhosting site www.photobucket.com and post the link here in your text when you answer the questions..

there are many reasons why a fish will be pooping like that, but you need to answer the questions so that we can have a better understanding of what might be causing this issue.

If this is what you mean:

Test Results for the Following:

• * Ammonia Level (tank): don't know, need to buy a test kit
  • * Nitrite Level (tank): same
  • * Nitrate level (Tank):same
  • * Ammonia Level (Tap): don't know
  • * Nitrite Level (Tap):same
  • * Nitrate level (Tap):same
  • * Ph Level, (Tank) (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines):same
  • * Ph Level, (Tap) (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines):same
    Other Required Info:
  • * Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops?:don't have one