Sign in to follow this  
enesta

Which gel food to buy?

Hello - I've never tried gel food before, but feel like my fish need some variety. I know Mazuri and Repashy are recommended, but there are so many variations - which one should I purchase?

Thanks

Repashy Soilent Green would be a good start :) If your fish are still growing, one of the meatier/higher protien types of Repashy would be good too. Repashy is hands down the easiest to prepare, store and feed.

I don't have any experience with Mazuri but I've been feeding Repashy Soilent Green for the past couple months. I've been thrilled with it. I no longer have floaty fishes, it's ridiculously easy to prepare, and it's easy to cut into whatever sized cubes you like. I've also noticed my fish have a much more vibrant color now. Once you prepare a batch, it can stay in the fridge for up to 2 weeks and the unprepared powder has a shelf life of 2 years :)

I third the Repashy. I've only tried soilent green but all my fish and snails loooove it!! And it's so easy to make.

Repashy Soilent Green would be a good start :) If your fish are still growing, one of the meatier/higher protien types of Repashy would be good too. Repashy is hands down the easiest to prepare, store and feed.

I use Repashy Soilent Green and love how easy it is to make, and love how the fish love it too..........

;)

Just wanted to jump in and say that Mazuri is a very good gel food. It is very easy to make. I make 1 cup of the mix to 1 cup water & then I let it sit up. I keep a small "tupperware" cup in the frig for daily feeding & the rest in the freezer. That much lasts me a good while. I haven't had any issues with the Mazuri. The 1 lb keg lasts me a LONG time!

I recent got the Rapashy Solient Green. My fish love it too & it is easy to make. I will continue to feed BOTH.