Sign in to follow this  
Guest Orandatank

Just Torn Fins

Guest Orandatank

Hello, I am new to this chat board and just signed in today out of panick. After several years of figuring out the best balance for orandas and fantails I have the perfect, healthy community tank. Problem is I have a fantail that likes to get into trouble.

First time it got stuck under a small rock crevace that was a quarter the size of the fish. Don't know how it did it, but I quickly noticed it and redid the formation.

This time the fish was not so lucky. I introduced a little sunken ship for my cories to swim into, but the fantail decided it would be a good place to get wedged into and I found this morning with a little bit of it's tail hanging out.

After freeing it, I noticed all the tail fin was a torn mess and I saw a little bit of white growths. It almost looked like little snail eggs were layed on it. Could it be infection from stress? Should I worry?

I have added the recommended dosage salt and stress coat for repairing fins. Is there anything else I can do? Should I be concerned about those few small white spots? I just have had bad luck whenever I use Kanacin or any gram negative or positive medications. They have never saved any of my fish. Any suggestions would be most helpful. :huh:

Guest Orandatank

It appeared overnight, that quick. So I do not think that it is a fungus. Doesn't look like ick either. It is at the base of the tail on each side. Perhaps it was a sore caused by the pivot point where the tail rotates from.

Tonight I checked on the fish and it is acting normal. However, not only is it's tail split, but its pectoral fins have also lost some pieces. I am guessing that it was stuck overnight, possibly it thrashed about and the plecostamous sucked onto him because he was trapped.

If you have any more ideas let me know :hi

Thanks

Guest Orandatank