Sign in to follow this  
McBarto

Tail splitting? Novice fish owner, need help!

Hello! This is my first time ever posting (and reading) in this forum, and I could really use your help! I'm a somewhat beginner fish owner, I've had my tank for 2 years but it's pretty simple and I don't know a whole ton about fish. Here's my problem though:

I have 2 goldfish (the cheap 13 cent ones that you buy at the pet store) and they're both roughly 2 years old. In the past few weeks, one of them has started to have periods where he just sits at the top of the tank (not right up to the surface, but close) for 10-15 seconds, then he'll move around a bit and do it again. And within the past week I've noticed that his tail has started splitting right down the lines of it. It doesn't look shredded or like pieces are falling off, it's just literally splitting to about 3/4 of the way down. It doesn't look white at the tips or red anywhere, just hangs a little limply maybe. And other than the spacey-ness, he seems totally fine. I'm not sure if this is fin rot or something else. I haven't changed any decorations in the tank within the past 6 months, and nothing is sharp enough to cut him anyway. I started putting melafix in the tank last night, but today when I got home from work I noticed that there's another new tear. I have no clue what to do to help him! Please keep your suggestions somewhat basic or "dumbed down" because I don't know a lot of medications or what to do with them. I also do not have a separate tank that I can put him in to medicate him if need be.

Here's what I can tell you about my tank:

16 gallons (yes I know it's too small for 2 goldfish)

2 goldfish, 1 pleco (just got him about a month ago)

We've always had good water testing results (I'll do a test as soon as I get some new strips)

I change about a quarter of the water every 2 weeks

I treat the water with water conditioner, bacterial supplement, and aquarium salt (and now melafix for the past 2 days)