Sign in to follow this  
cmclien

Tetra Fin Plus food?

Hi, I'm new to the forum, will have to introduce myself on the new members area.

My fish seems to get constipated from regular flakes. I have ordered tetra fin plus flakes (with 40% more fiber in the way of algae), anyone have luck with this product?

I am new to the hobby and not ready to learn how to make my own food at this point. Just trying to keep him alive! long story

Here are some foods that are all fantastic, although I will list them in order of my preference ;)

1. Pro-Gold from goldfishconnection.com

2. Saki Hikari (can order from goldfishutopia.com)

3. Omega (Petsmart, Petco, etc)

4. New Life Spectrum

All these foods are pellets, which are better than flakes.

Well I never used the other stuff Alex suggested but I can say. I been using Progold for almost 10 years, I admit I had a few fish get floaty with it. But now if I see my fish start to bob in a since. I just fast for 2 days and give them a green bean.... Cleans them right out.

But I notice this will happen if you feed them to much at one sitting. :(

Thanks, I ordered the pro-gold. When you say a bean, do you mean cooked, canned, peeled ? I have no idea how to feed a fish a bean LOL

Thanks, I ordered the pro-gold. When you say a bean, do you mean cooked, canned, peeled ? I have no idea how to feed a fish a bean LOL

Really easy. I just get a can of cooked green beans (No salt) then (my fish are very spoiled) I pop the bean open and get the seed its self. Then feed the bean seed to the fish. But you can just chop the green bean in to bite size pieces.

I also like the Hikari Lionhead pellets.

I don't think switching your foods is going to help your fish's constipation that much. The ingredients of fish food don't vary too widely, here's the first few ingredients of the tetra one you're getting:

fish meal, dried yeast, ground brown rice, shrimp meal, feeding oat meal, wheat gluten, fish oil, algae meal